TestMarket - Limited-Time Discount: The Book Eaters - Gothic Fantasy Horror

Limited-Time Discount: The Book Eaters - Gothic Fantasy Horror

Date:
Jan 14, 2024 08:09 pm
Limited-Time Discount: The Book Eaters - Gothic Fantasy Horror
Category: Contemporary
Seller Name: -
Rating: 4.10
Total Rating Count: 1894
23.00
OFF
£9.99
£7.69
Saving £2.3
This item is sold on
Limited Offer! Grab The Book Eaters: The SUNDAY TIMES bestselling gothic fantasy horror now and save big with a 23% discount! Act Fast to secure your deal and enjoy this enthralling read just in time for Halloween. Dive into a world of mystery and suspense as the chilling tale unfolds. Don't miss out on this exclusive offer with a discounted price of only £7.69 (Save £2.3)! Unlock your savings today!

Title: Tender, nuanced and menacing...
Content: Sunyi Dean is an exciting new voice in the realm of dark fiction. This book lingered in my mind days, weeks, after finishing it. This is perfect for fans of Laura Purcell’s work, particularly if you would love to read her level of dark fiction rooted in a fantasy premise. The alternating timelines of our main character, Devon, growing up from childhood to her present circumstances as an adult and mother… Truly flawless. It served excellent suspense for the building tension and allows the reader to ruminate on all the plot’s threads. I genuinely cannot put it into words how exceptional it was. I give Dean a standing ovation. My stomach was in knots. The Book Eaters is toes an exceptional balance of tenderness, nuance and menacing… The ending is a mostly concluded ending, but there is a thread that could be pulled on for a sequel, which I desperately hope Dean plans to write. I would camp outside Harper Voyager’s HQ to get my hands on it. I’ll read whatever Dean writes next: she’s cemented herself as one of my favourite writers of late, certainly and most deservedly affirmed herself as one of the best debuts of 2022-23.
Rating:
Title: "Literary Vampires"
Content: A very interesting concept whereby "literary" vampires compete with mind eaters and dragons that are not dragons of the scaly fire breathing variety. A time where you a chapter you are reading is set in Dickensian times and then flicks to modern day with no time travel involved. This tale has much of everything, horror, crime, a period piece, geekiness, vampiric element, a brief visit to the lgbtq family. Somehow it works and yet you are left wanting more. It is difficult to say why but like a layer cake, it just requires a little more depth. It would make for an amazing tv series, however i personally felt that the ending was rushed and didn't compliment the tale at all, almost like it needed to be rewritten.
Rating:
Title: A highly atmospheric gothic read.
Content: I love the eerie, gothic cover design of The Book Eaters. Unfortunately, for me, the story didn't live up to this. I found The Book Eaters a highly atmospheric gothic read with many thought provoking ideas and conversations. But I failed to connect with the characters and found it a rather desolate read. The horror for me wasn't in the "mind-eating", (or even my horror at the idea of people eating and destroying books *gasp*, ) but the horrendous and traumatic treatment of the female Book Eaters. This is written intentionally and a major theme of the book. However, this, combined with mafia and cult-like organisations, left little to love. I enjoyed the idea of the different tastes of books depending on genre and printing. Also, how Book Eaters’ minds are even more shaped by the books they consume than ours as readers. It amused me that a Mind Eater would feel sick if they ate their own writing. A complex exploration of archaic families, discrimination, oppression and censorship, written in wonderful language, but falling short of my expectations. An interesting dark fantasy read, but not one that I would reread. Favourite Quotes: - “When Devon had been young, she’d wanted to sometimes read books and sometimes eat books, rather than always eating them, but the main thing was choosing her own books, deciding how to shape and immerse herself.” - “He will still be able to write, making him superior to your average book eater, but don’t let him eat anything he’s written himself; he’ll feel rather sick.”
Rating:
Title: A fresh twist on the vampire concept
Content: If I hadn't heard the author refer to her own book as a vampire book, I wouldn't necessary describe it as such, although I guess fundamentally it is, one soul feeding off another. And I'm a sucker for any kind of vampire book (pun intended). This one is high class, with great characters, a unique plot and a fabulous world! More please!
Rating:
Title: Part bookish-vampire novel, part chase thriller, part gothic family drama
Content: The Book Eaters is a really interesting story and such an intriguingly fun concept. Part bookish-vampire novel, part chase thriller, part gothic family drama, and all perfect for booklovers. The Book Eaters absorb knowledge by eating books. Children grow up eating fairy tales, the book eaters drink ink tea, and every book eater family has an ancestral family library. Then you have the Mind Eaters, taken away at birth and raised as enforcers (or “dragons”) by the knights who handle them, they have a slightly more sinister appetite. I really enjoyed the character development throughout this story. Chapters alternate the current day with historic chapters thrown in at exactly the right times to drip-feed you the backstory of whoever is involved. This type of exposition chapter can be done in a really clunky way but Sunyi Dean has done a great job of finessing this. I love the idea of secluded families gathering knowledge and living off books and I think this will appeal to anyone whose secret desire is to have their own private library.
Rating:
Title: Engrossing and dark
Content: I found The Book Eaters to be engrossing, if very dark - I wasn't sure I would gel with it at first, but I was utterly gripped. The world shown is really intriguing - with obviously vampiric undertones, the atmosphere of which reminded me of Let The Right One In in places (despite being two very different books!). It had my heart pounding and was also moving. Although this is technically a multiple point-of-view book, the focus is squarely on Devon - the other POVs often felt like brief interludes to me, and I wasn’t always sure how necessary they were. That said, they certainly helped with the intricacy of the plot. I felt the quotes at the beginning of chapters, some from within the world of the book, and some from our own, really added to the atmosphere. There’s a C.S. Lewis quote in one of the penultimate chapters that felt particularly poignant. All in all, I think The Book Eaters is a read which will stick with me long after finishing it - I’ll certainly instantly pick up whatever Sunyi Dean writes next! 4.5 rounded up to 5. Thanks to HarperVoyager and Netgalley for the ARC.
Rating:
Title: Tender, nuanced and menacing...
Content: Sunyi Dean is an exciting new voice in the realm of dark fiction. This book lingered in my mind days, weeks, after finishing it. This is perfect for fans of Laura Purcell’s work, particularly if you would love to read her level of dark fiction rooted in a fantasy premise. The alternating timelines of our main character, Devon, growing up from childhood to her present circumstances as an adult and mother… Truly flawless. It served excellent suspense for the building tension and allows the reader to ruminate on all the plot’s threads. I genuinely cannot put it into words how exceptional it was. I give Dean a standing ovation. My stomach was in knots. The Book Eaters is toes an exceptional balance of tenderness, nuance and menacing… The ending is a mostly concluded ending, but there is a thread that could be pulled on for a sequel, which I desperately hope Dean plans to write. I would camp outside Harper Voyager’s HQ to get my hands on it. I’ll read whatever Dean writes next: she’s cemented herself as one of my favourite writers of late, certainly and most deservedly affirmed herself as one of the best debuts of 2022-23.
Rating:

Amazon Subscribe & Save - Unlock Great Deals, Enjoy Hassle-Free Shopping
Description: Discover the convenience of Amazon Subscribe & Save, where you not only secure free standard shipping on auto-deliveries but also gain exclusive benefits. Non-Prime customers may encounter shipping costs for the initial delivery, but the savings thereafter make it worthwhile.
Easily manage your subscriptions within your Amazon account without facing any penalties. This flexibility ensures that you can seize fantastic deals at a reduced price and cancel the subscription at your convenience.
Maximize your savings by unlocking additional discounts through coupon clipping on select subscriptions. Elevate your discount game – save an impressive 15% (compared to the standard 5%) on all items in your subscription when you add 5 or more eligible items to your monthly deliveries.
Stay informed with our friendly reminder emails before each delivery, detailing the item price and any applicable discounts. Keep in mind that prices may fluctuate with each delivery, reflecting the current Amazon.com price at the time of order processing.
Note: This is not an advertisement; we are dedicated to promoting items to assist people in finding deals quickly and efficiently, ultimately saving them money. Explore and test market all the latest deals and promotions conveniently gathered in one website for a seamless and money-saving shopping experience.